Corning develops specialty glass, ceramics, and optical-communications products across communications, display, mobile, automotive, and life-science markets.
Loading research record…
Market data may be delayed and is provided for informational and educational purposes. Luna1 does not guarantee its accuracy or completeness.
Loading research record…
Corning develops specialty glass, ceramics, and optical-communications products across communications, display, mobile, automotive, and life-science markets.
Corning develops specialty glass, ceramics, and optical-communications products across communications, display, mobile, automotive, and life-science markets.
The company is being studied for its exposure to optical-connectivity demand and the physical infrastructure required by data-center networks.
Can optical demand and segment execution produce durable margin and free-cash-flow improvement?
Monitor optical communications, utilization, pricing, segment margins, and capital intensity.
Under Review. Primary-source evidence is documented below, while the five-year model and valuation output remain incomplete.
What normalized earnings and cash-flow profile is supported across Corning's different cycles?
Scenario Assumption — operating drivers exceed the verified base evidence without requiring materially weaker economics.
Scenario Assumption — reported operating drivers develop within management's disclosed framework; no point valuation is published.
Scenario Assumption — operating conversion, margins, or cash generation weaken relative to the cited evidence.
Research in progress. No differentiated conclusion has been published.
Required evidence will be defined after current filings and investor materials are reviewed.
Invalidation criteria are pending completion of the initial research record.
Research in progress. Evidence and source citations have not yet been entered.
Research in progress. Evidence and source citations have not yet been entered.
Research in progress. Evidence and source citations have not yet been entered.
Research in progress. Evidence and source citations have not yet been entered.
Research in progress. Evidence and source citations have not yet been entered.
Research in progress. Evidence and source citations have not yet been entered.
Research in progress. Evidence and source citations have not yet been entered.
Research in progress. Evidence and source citations have not yet been entered.
Corning's official Q2 2026 release is the latest verified operating update. Historical source dates remain attached to their original documents.
| Segment | Revenue | Growth | Operating income | Operating margin | Share of total | Key driver | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Optical Communications | 6,274 | 34.7% | Not separately disclosedNot applicable | Not separately disclosed | 38.2% | AI data-center connectivity, carrier fiber, and enterprise-network demand. | Annual report |
| Display | 3,697 | -4.5% | Not separately disclosedNot applicable | Not separately disclosed | 22.5% | Display-glass volume, pricing, currency, and manufacturing utilization. | Annual report |
| Specialty Materials | 2,211 | 9.6% | Not separately disclosedNot applicable | Not separately disclosed | 13.5% | Premium cover materials, advanced optics, and specialty-glass adoption. | Annual report |
| Automotive | 1,794 | -2.8% | Not separately disclosedNot applicable | Not separately disclosed | 10.9% | Gasoline particulate filters, heavy-duty diesel, and automotive-glass demand. | Annual report |
| Life Sciences | 972 | -0.7% | Not separately disclosedNot applicable | Not separately disclosed | 5.9% | Laboratory demand, bioprocessing activity, and pharmaceutical packaging. | Annual report |
| Hemlock and Emerging Growth Businesses | 1,460 | 33.1% | Not separately disclosedNot applicable | Not separately disclosed | 8.9% | Polysilicon volume, solar-module ramp, and emerging-business mix. | Annual report |
| Component | Historical evidence | Unit | Revenue relationship | Margin relationship | Cash-flow relationship | Key uncertainty | Analyst interpretation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Optical Communications demandReported | Q1 2026 Optical Communications sales grew 36% year over year. | Year-over-year sales growth | Fiber, cable, and connectivity volumes affect segment sales. | Utilization, mix, and pricing influence segment profitability. | Capacity additions and working capital can delay cash conversion. | Hyperscaler deployment timing and customer concentration. | Optical demand is the clearest near-term operating proof point. |
| Solar rampReported | Q1 2026 Solar sales grew 80% year over year; Q2 included planned maintenance expense. | Sales growth and disclosed expense | Polysilicon and module ramps add revenue. | Ramp utilization and maintenance affect contribution margin. | Throughput upgrades require capital and working capital. | Ramp timing and sustainable demand. | Track revenue growth together with segment profit and cash generation. |
| Period | Revenue | Growth | Gross profit | Gross margin | Operating income | Operating margin | EBITDA | EBITDA margin | Net income | EPS | Operating cash flow | Capital expenditures | FCF | Cash | Debt | Diluted shares | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2021 | 14,082 | Not applicable | 5,063 | 36.0% | 2,112 | 15.0% | 3,593 | 25.5% | 1,906 | 1.28 | 3,412 | 1,637 | 1,775 | 2,148 | 7,044 | 844 | SEC filed annual reports / XBRL company factsUSD |
| FY2022 | 14,189 | 0.8% | 4,506 | 31.8% | 1,438 | 10.1% | 2,890 | 20.4% | 1,316 | 1.54 | 2,615 | 1,604 | 1,011 | 1,671 | 6,911 | 857 | SEC filed annual reports / XBRL company factsUSD |
| FY2023 | 12,588 | -11.3% | 3,931 | 31.2% | 890 | 7.1% | 2,259 | 17.9% | 581 | 0.68 | 2,005 | 1,089 | 916 | 1,779 | 7,526 | 859 | SEC filed annual reports / XBRL company factsUSD |
| FY2024 | 13,118 | 4.2% | 4,276 | 32.6% | 1,135 | 8.7% | 2,485 | 18.9% | 506 | 0.58 | 1,939 | 797 | 1,142 | 1,768 | 7,211 | 869 | SEC filed annual reports / XBRL company factsUSD |
| FY2025 | 15,629 | 19.1% | 5,621 | 36.0% | 2,279 | 14.6% | 3,626 | 23.2% | 1,596 | 1.83 | 2,695 | 1,287 | 1,408 | 1,526 | 8,425 | 871 | SEC filed annual reports / XBRL company factsUSD |
AI data-center connectivity, carrier fiber, and enterprise-network demand.
Review primary sourceDisplay-glass volume, pricing, currency, and manufacturing utilization.
Review primary sourcePremium cover materials, advanced optics, and specialty-glass adoption.
Review primary sourceGasoline particulate filters, heavy-duty diesel, and automotive-glass demand.
Review primary sourceLaboratory demand, bioprocessing activity, and pharmaceutical packaging.
Review primary sourcePolysilicon volume, solar-module ramp, and emerging-business mix.
Review primary source| Period | Metric | Base case | Bull case | Bear case | Operating-driver build | Difference from guidance | Main sensitivity | Principal risk |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Next fiscal year | Revenue and cash-flow directionForecast | Scenario Assumption — positive operating conversion continues, but growth moderates from the strongest recent period. | Scenario Assumption — demand, mix, and execution remain above the recent reported trend, supporting stronger cash conversion. | Scenario Assumption — demand timing, pricing, mix, or execution weakens enough to pressure revenue and cash conversion. | Build from optical volumes, hyperscaler agreements, solar throughput, utilization, and segment margins. | This is a Luna1 directional scenario, not management guidance and not an external consensus estimate. | Conversion of the cited operating drivers into reported revenue and cash flow | The operating evidence may not persist through the next fiscal year |
| Assumption | Historical basis | Management evidence | Luna1 interpretation | Base | Bull | Bear | Last updated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Optical and solar demand conversion | Current reported period and prior-year comparison | Management disclosed current-quarter performance and forward outlook; no Luna1 point forecast is substituted for that guidance. | Directionally relevant, but insufficient by itself for a point forecast. | Recent reported momentum moderates toward a normalized pace. | Demand and operating conversion remain above the recent trend. | Demand, pricing, mix, or execution falls below the recent trend. | July 28, 2026 |
Sensitivity table will render after sourced assumptions are entered.
Sensitivity table will render after sourced assumptions are entered.
| Selected method | Segment-informed DCF and normalized earnings multiple |
|---|---|
| Why it fits | Corning combines businesses with different cycles and capital intensity, so segment economics should precede a consolidated valuation. |
| Valuation date | July 28, 2026 |
| Share-price date | No market-price source connected |
| Share count | Requires verification from the cited primary-source record. |
| Net debt or cash | Requires verification from the cited primary-source record. |
| Forecast period | Not published; operating forecast remains incomplete |
| Discount rate | Not published |
| Terminal assumption | Not published |
| Scenario range | Not published |
| Major sensitivities | Growth duration, margins, capital intensity, and valuation multiple |
| Calculation source | No valuation output is published until reported inputs and market data are verified. |
| Limitations | The site has no licensed real-time market-data feed. This framework is not a price target. |
| Company | Ticker | Market capitalization | Enterprise value | Revenue growth | EBITDA margin | EV/Revenue | EV/EBITDA | P/E | FCF yield | Price-to-book |
|---|
Research in progress. Evidence and source citations have not yet been entered.
Research in progress. Evidence and source citations have not yet been entered.
Research in progress. Evidence and source citations have not yet been entered.
Research in progress. Evidence and source citations have not yet been entered.
Research in progress. Evidence and source citations have not yet been entered.
Research in progress. Evidence and source citations have not yet been entered.
Research in progress. Evidence and source citations have not yet been entered.
Research in progress. Evidence and source citations have not yet been entered.
Research in progress. Evidence and source citations have not yet been entered.
Research in progress. Evidence and source citations have not yet been entered.
Research in progress. Evidence and source citations have not yet been entered.
Research in progress. Evidence and source citations have not yet been entered.
Research in progress. Evidence and source citations have not yet been entered.
Research in progress. Evidence and source citations have not yet been entered.
Research in progress. Evidence and source citations have not yet been entered.
Research in progress. Evidence and source citations have not yet been entered.
Research in progress. Evidence and source citations have not yet been entered.
Research in progress. Evidence and source citations have not yet been entered.
Research in progress. Evidence and source citations have not yet been entered.
Optical connectivity and materials-science demand can improve Corning's mix, margins, and cash generation.
Official results show strong optical growth and expanded hyperscaler commitments.
Solar ramp costs, cyclicality, and capital intensity can weaken conversion.
Optical Communications sales growth and margin
Adjusted free cash flow
Normalized segment margin
Capacity is added ahead of realized demand
Conversion of long-term hyperscaler agreements
Not officially verified
Under Review
July 28, 2026
| Quarter | Revenue | Revenue growth | EPS | EPS growth | Gross margin | Operating margin | Guidance | Earnings reaction | Analyst note |
|---|
Equity Research and Valuation Report
Prepared by Shy LeeIntegrated Valuation Model
Prepared by Shy Lee| Document | Publisher | Publication date | Reporting period | Type | Relevant section | Date accessed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Q2 2026 financial results | Corning Incorporated | July 27, 2026 | Quarter ended June 30, 2026 | Earnings release | Results, outlook, and segment reporting | July 28, 2026 |
| SEC filings | Corning Incorporated | Ongoing archive | Multiple periods | Investor relations | Company filing archive | July 28, 2026 |
Source: Company filings, investor-relations materials, and Luna1 Research estimates. Estimates are labeled Luna1 Research Estimate; scenarios are labeled Illustrative Scenario.
Educational disclosure: This research is for educational and informational purposes only and is not investment advice. Luna1 Research may hold or monitor securities discussed on the platform.
| Section | Status | Audit note |
|---|---|---|
| Executive summary | Complete | Company purpose and research question are stated. |
| Business overview | Partial | Current primary-source evidence is present; multi-period model work remains incomplete. |
| Segment data | Complete | Latest disclosed segment or single-reportable-segment values are sourced to the annual filing. |
| Five-year financial history | Complete | Five fiscal-year rows cite filed annual reports; non-applicable or undisclosed measures are labeled explicitly. |
| Operating-component build | Partial | Company-relevant drivers and source links are present; undisclosed metrics are labeled. |
| Estimate section | Partial | Only management-guidance-derived or calculated estimates are shown. |
| Forecast section | Partial | No unsupported analyst point forecast is published. |
| Valuation | Partial | Method and required inputs are documented; market-dependent output is withheld. |
| Bull case | Partial | Scenario requires verified forecast inputs. |
| Base case | Partial | Scenario requires verified forecast inputs. |
| Bear case | Partial | Scenario requires verified forecast inputs. |
| Catalysts | Partial | Catalyst categories are present; dated event verification remains ongoing. |
| Risks | Partial | Risk categories are present; filing-specific citations remain ongoing. |
| Earnings update | Partial | Latest cited release is linked; full quarterly history is incomplete. |
| Source list | Partial | Primary sources are listed; a five-year source archive remains incomplete. |
| Performance tracking | Missing | No verified publication price and benchmark series are connected. |
| Thesis-monitoring indicators | Complete | Quarterly and annual monitoring fields are defined. |